Ciudad sin sueño (1995) – Reviews

«"The world is small and the heart is vast" – Yes, she has got a big heart. With lots of feeling the Swiss artist always finds the specifically suitable sound ... sometimes folky, sometimes jazzy ... she sings dramatically, melancholy, but always accentuates right.»
(Kurier)

«The effects of this interaction between traditional and unconventional instruments, the mixture of different styles are fascinating – luscious, melancholy, exciting, magical, just like the early deceased poet’s words, interpreted by Christina Zurbrügg with wonderful intuition. And the musicians are really brilliant ... »
(Wiener Zeitung)

«The music shouts and sobs ... It is as heterogeneous as its interpreters: Flamenco, chanson, driving jazz, mixed with folk tunes. The music sobs, shouts, creates powerful archaic pictures, and leads the listener into the turmoil of a fiesta. And nevertheless it remains dignified – just like Christina Zurbrügg ... »
(NZ)

«... a mélange of Paco de Lucía, Sade, Salsa und Latin American atmosphere.»
(Die Alternative)

«... from chanson to flamenco and jazz ... with wonderful rhythmic arrangements.»
(Concerto)

«Spanish Jazz ... with a combo that masters flamenco just as well as Brasilian sounds ... And above it the clear voice of Christina Zurbrügg, exploring Lorca’s lyrical words with deep sensitivity for fragile moments ... easiness and depth together, without theatricality.»
(Rhythm blue)

«Not only for rainy summer days!»
(Salzburger Nachrichten)

Comments are closed

Ciudad sin sueño (1995) – Reviews

«Die Welt ist winzig, und das Herz ist unermesslich" - Und, das Herz ist groß. Mit viel Gespür findet die Schweizerin die jeweils richtige Klangkulisse ... mal volksliedhaft, mal jazzig ... Singt dramatisch, melancholisch, akzentuiert immer richtig.»
(Kurier)

«Die Wirkung des Zusammenspiels von traditionellen und unkonventionellen Instrumenten, die Mischung verschiedener Stilarten ist faszinierend - üppig, schwermütig, aufregend, zaubrisch, wie des früh verstorbenen Dichters Worte, die von Christina Zurbrügg wunderbar einfühlsam interpretiert werden. Und geradezu bravourös sind die Musiker... »
(Wiener Zeitung)

«Die Musik schreit und schluchzt ... Heterogen wie die Interpreten ist auch die Musik, von Flamenco und Chanson bis zum fetzigen Jazz, durchmischt von Volksweisen. Die Musik schluchzt, sie schreit, läßt archaisch-wuchtige Bilder entstehen, führt den Hörer in den Trubel eines Volksfestes. Und bleibt doch stets würdevoll, genauso wie Christina Zurbrügg ... »
(NZ)

«... eine Melange aus Paco de Lucía, Sade, Salsa und lateinamerikanischer Atmosphäre»
(Die Alternative)

«... vom Chanson über Flamenco bis zum Jazz ... mit gefühlvollen, rhythmischen Arrangements»
(Concerto)

«Spanish Jazz ... mit einer Combo, die Flamenco ebenso souverän beherrscht wie den brasilianischen Sound ... Darüber die klare Stimme von Christina Zurbrügg, die mit Gespür für brüchige Momente in den poetischen Texten Lorcas forscht ... Viel Leichtigkeit und Tiefe zugleich, ohne Theatralik.»
(Rhythm blue)

«Nicht nur für verregnete Sommertage!»
(Salzburger Nachrichten)

Kommentare sind geschlossen.